Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Learning to Breathe

ebook
A Governor General's Literary Award Finalist
A Junior Library Guild Selection

"A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full of hope." —Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street
"This is a stellar debut." —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe
"A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one's family." —Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning Charm & Strange
"A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read." —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Allegedly
"Poetic." —Angela Johnson, award-winning author of Heaven

"A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become." —Kirkus Reviews
"This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics...a stirring debut." —School Library Journal (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.
Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy's rules—study hard in school, be respectful, and never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn't always been easy, especially living in her mother's shadow.

When Indy is sent to stay in Nassau, trouble follows her and she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home.

After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if she's found that place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it's about the people she chooses to share it with.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781534406032
  • File size: 2636 KB
  • Release date: June 26, 2018

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781534406032
  • File size: 2636 KB
  • Release date: June 26, 2018


Loading

Formats

OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

Lexile® Measure:640
Text Difficulty:2-3

A Governor General's Literary Award Finalist
A Junior Library Guild Selection

"A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full of hope." —Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street
"This is a stellar debut." —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe
"A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one's family." —Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning Charm & Strange
"A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read." —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Allegedly
"Poetic." —Angela Johnson, award-winning author of Heaven

"A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become." —Kirkus Reviews
"This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics...a stirring debut." —School Library Journal (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.
Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy's rules—study hard in school, be respectful, and never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn't always been easy, especially living in her mother's shadow.

When Indy is sent to stay in Nassau, trouble follows her and she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home.

After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if she's found that place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it's about the people she chooses to share it with.

Expand title description text